Friday May 28June 10, 2021

Submission deadline full papers (conference proceedings)

Friday June 18, 2021

Submission deadline abstracts for presentation only

Friday July 29, 2021

Notifications of acceptance (for both full papers and abstracts)

Friday July 1623, 2021

Submission deadline revised papers

Friday July 23, 2021

Deadline for submission camera-ready papers

Friday August 6, 2021

Registration deadline for presenters (to be included in conference proceedings and book of abstracts)

Friday September 24, 2021

Registration deadline for participants

Sunday September 26, 2021

Optional pre-conference workshops

Monday till Wednesday, September 27-29, 2021

Conference days


The registration fee will include access to the online conference and a welcome package. The fee is charged to cover the costs of the online tools (video conference, paper submission, registration), the welcome package, technical support, the control room for the organizers, and the cancellation costs for the originally planned hybrid conference.


Each accepted full paper and extended abstract requires at least one presenter registration, for which you need to provide the Paper ID in the registration.

€ 70

Registration deadline to be included in the conference proceedings and book of abstracts: August 6th, 2021.


Registration fee for participants.

€ 35

Registration deadline to be allowed access to the online conference: September 24th, 2021.

Location (no longer applicable)

ICCL 2021 will be held at the University of Twente in Enschede, The Netherlands. The conference rooms are located within the U Parkhotel at the campus of the University of Twente. Rooms within the U Parkhotel are offered at a reduced rate. Rooms are also available at Fletcher Hotel De Broeierd, which is within walking distance from the conference location. Other hotels are available within the city center. On the map, the conference location is indicated in red, the hotels in blue, and the parking areas and public transport stops in green.

Directions (no longer applicable)

You can find travel information at Besides Schiphol Airport in Amsterdam, The netherlands, there are several airports in Germany close to the University of Twente.

Schiphol Airport (AMS)

If you come by plane, usually you fly to Schiphol, the largest airport in the Netherlands, close to Amsterdam. There is an intercity train from Schiphol that goes to Utrecht, where you have to change trains to continue to Enschede Central Station. The trip from Schiphol to Enschede takes about two and a half hours. When you arrive at the train station in Enschede, take bus line 1 to ‘Universiteit Twente’. There are several bus stops on the campus, “De Zul” is closest to the conference location. (Second option: Switch trains in Hengelo and travel further with a regional train to station Enschede Kennispark. This station is located at walking distance of the University of Twente main entrance (about 1 km). Always plan your journey here to avoid unexpected situations.

Düsseldorf Airport (DUS)

Enschede can be reached by train (Deutsche Bahn) from Düsseldorf Airport (DUS). It should take around three hours to reach Enschede train station. From there you can take bus line 1 to ‘Universiteit Twente’. Tickets and travel information are available from the ticket vending machines at the train station in the terminal of Düsseldorf Airport (or any other train station). If you take only regional trains (S, RE and RB trains) after 09:00 you can use a SchönerTagTicket to get to Enschede. It costs € 30,50 for a single ticket or € 45,- for a ticket for up to 5 people and can be bought from the ticket vending machine.

Münster/Osnabrück Airport (FMO)

Enschede can be reached by car from Münster/Osnabrück Airport. It takes about one hour. It should be possible to take a taxi to the university for around € 150,- if arranged in advance.


Conference Chairs:

Martijn R.K. MesUniversity of Twente, Enschede, The Netherlands
Eduardo Lalla-RuizUniversity of Twente, Enschede, The Netherlands
Stefan VoßUniversity of Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

Scientific Committee:

Panagiotis AngeloudisImperial College London, UK
Tolga BektasUniversity of Liverpool, UK
Francesco CarrabsUniversity of Salerno, Italy
Carlos CastroUniversidad Federico de Santa Maria, Chile
Raffaele CerulliUniversity of Salerno, Italy
Joachim R. DadunaBerlin School of Economics and Law, Germany
Christopher Expósito-IzquierdoUniversity of La Laguna, Spain
Yingjie FanErasmus University Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Elena FernándezUniversidad de Cadiz, Spain
Monica GentiliUniversity of Louisville, USA
Rosa Gonzalez University of Los Andes, Chile
Hans-Dietrich HaasisUniversity of Bremen, Germany
Richard Hartl University of Vienna, Austria
Geir HasleSINTEF Digital, Norway
Wouter van HeeswijkUniversity of Twente, The Netherlands
Leonard HeiligUniversity of Hamburg, Germany
Alessandro HillCalifornia Polytechnic State University, USA
Jan HoffmannUNCTAD, Switzerland
Manuel IoriUniversity of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy
Jiangang JinShanghai Jiao Tong University
Raka JovanovicQatar Environment and Energy Research Institute, Qatar
Herbert KopferUniversity of Bremen, Germany
René de KosterErasmus University Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Ioannis LagoudisUniversity of Piraeus, Greece
Jasmine Lam Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Gilbert Laporte HEC Montréal, Canada
Janny LeungUniversity of Macau, China
Israel Lopez-PlataUniversity of La Laguna, Spain
Dirk Mattfeld TU Braunschweig, Germany
Frank MeiselUniversity of Kiel, Germany
Gonzalo MejíaUniversidad de La Sabana, Colombia
Belén Melián-BatistaUniversity of La Laguna , Spain
J.Marcos Moreno-VegaUniversity of La Laguna, Spain
Adriana Moros-DazaUniversidad del Norte, Colombia
Rudy NegenbornDelft University of Technology, The Netherlands
Dario Pacino Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Julia Pahl University of Southern Denmark
Carlos D. Paternina ArboledaUniversidad del Norte, Colombia
Mario RuthmairUniversity of Vienna, Austria
Dirk SackmannHochschule Merseburg, Germany
Juan José SalazarUniversidad de La Laguna, Spain
Frederik SchulteDelft University of Technology, The Netherlands
Marco Schutten University of Twente, The Netherlands
Xiaoning ShiUniversity of Hamburg, Germany
Douglas SmithUniversity of Missouri-St. Louis, USA
Maria Grazia SperanzaUniversity of Brescia, Italy
Shunji TanakaKyoto University, Japan
Kevin Tierney Bielefeld University, Germany
Thierry VanelslanderUniversity of Antwerp, Belgium